On ageing

Last week I joyfully celebrated my 30th birthday. My sister was in town with her husband, and I enjoyed several days of being showered with attention. Thursday we went out for sushi after stopping by to see the knitters at Brooks, Friday a couple friends hosted us for dinner and drinks, Saturday we headed out to watch the US/England match and drink some more. The universe gave me a birthday present, as the Mr. was offered a job last week. It’s only a 6 week contract, but it’s a job. As a result, I’ve had more time than usual in the flat on my own, giving me the opportunity to catch up on little things.

Some people go to pieces on their milestone birthdays (after about 25). I knew one guy who spent the entire year running up to his 30th birthday exercising and eating protein shakes so he could say he was in the best shape of his life when he turned 30. I think he did the same thing for his 40th. Another guy gets depressed every year around his birthday. I can only imagine what his 30th was like. I’ve known lots of people who jokingly refer to their birthdays after 29 as “the fourth anniversary of my 29th birthday.” And, of course, it’s not polite to ask a woman her age.

Me? I couldn’t turn 30 fast enough. Being older means you’ve experienced more, which I’m on board for. It also raises your credibility (however unfairly) in other people’s eyes. It’s been a little while since I’ve said something and gotten that look that says “Oh, you’ll understand when you’re older,” and the only thing that’s changed is that I am older, rather than any age-induced paradigm shift. I rarely get carded when buying alcohol anymore, though I suspect that’s more due to the change of scenery.

I like having a tidy pile of experiences to build upon. I like being old enough to be allowed to make my own choices, like whether to drink, vote, or spend money. I like being “old.” Happy birthday to me.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Annie Bee

     /  16 June, 2010

    Happy (belated) birthday! I’m racing full-tilt towards 30 too — just about 3 more weeks now. And like you, I’m ready to be there!

    Reply
  2. Happy birthday!

    Reply
  3. I missed it on the day – belated wishes to you!

    It’s nice to read a positive take on the advancing of years. I was also actually quite happy to turn 30 as I saw this decade as the one where I’d be happier in my own skin, letting go of insecurities, and also advanced enough in my career to have a half decent job that doesn’t involve a call centre!

    I didn’t count on the approach of 31 being quite so icky though :/

    Reply
  4. DrDevidents

     /  16 June, 2010

    Did NOT know it was your birthday. Happy Birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

